Tool storage and organization

Low&Slow

Ancora imparo
When I started my current job as an airframe mechanic, I inherited a messy, disorganized toolbox at work that I've been trying to straighten up. It's a long, slow process though because I'm always super busy trying to keep over two-dozen UH-60 helicopters and a half-dozen or so EC145 helicopters flying, but I try to make improvements to it now and then whenever I get a chance.
At home I have one of those hideous wire shelves that I took out of a closet during a recent remodel. So, the other day I got the idea to see if I could repurpose the wire shelf into a file rack. I cut it down and then bent it on the brake, this is the result.
Not very much planning or time was spent on it, but I think it will be a pretty handy way to help me keep my files organized, sharp, and easy to find, while minimizing the footprint in my drawer. This is the first "prototype", but it will probably end up being permanent. I might trim it down where the short 6" files are too.
I'm open to feedback and other ideas. What are some things you have done to help keep your tools organized?

tmp_15026-IMAG0953-2033980639_zpsnqoub3tn.jpg
tmp_15026-IMAG0953-2033980639_zpsnqoub3tn.jpg

tmp_15026-IMAG0955-1526619390_zpsyasizb0m.jpg

Last edited:
I work in a place where tool accountability is placed way ahead of pretty much everything else. We use black foam in every tool box drawer and cut out a spot for each tool. Then we number it. We also use shadow boards for stuff that goes on the wall. Then it is all backed up with paperwork.

Tool and Fod accountability is huge where I work too. I do a tool and Fod inventory after every repair, and a tool inventory every day before I lock my box and go home.