135 VFR in AK

MEPilot

I'm decided to try and get a flying job in Alaska this spring. I have been working towards this goal for nearly 10 years. I now have all the ratings, plus CFII, and have accumulated a little under 800 hours. Last month I began applying at the places that post ads. I have always read the best way to get hired is to go up and knock on doors. So I am planning a trip in mid-march to do that. I want to find something that is a normal 5-6 day schedule, rather than 2/2. I'm bringing my family with me, so western AK won't work. I thought I would ask on JC for suggestions and input. I would love a float job, but with only 26 SES that will be tough. Ketchikan, Juneau, Homer, and Anchorage are top on my list. Any JCers up that way, or past Alaska guys with insight? Thanks in advance.

I should be around most of March. Look into Regal Air taxi at lake hood. They'd probably put you into the 206 on wheels to start, but you'd end up on floats by the end of the season I'd imagine. Otherwise with that low time and in town, you're looking at Hagland in the 1900 or something right seat. Otherwise Juneau in a 206 for one of the VFR ops. I think Desert Air needs a DC-3 FO this summer as they usually do. That'd get you to IFR mins where you could get year round work. Maybe Smokey Bay in Homer. Also look at Kodiak, they usually have a lot of summer float flying.

@ppragman

Starting off in AK and not going out west somewhere is a little tougher. If you’re willing to go to Ketichikan and Juneau I think you’d be fine going to Dillingham and King Salmon/Naknek, they are MUCH nicer than Bethel. Plus there a number of float operators and lodges that seem to have ads up all the time. Also look into Katmai Air, they have 206/sleds on wheels, and 206, beaver and otter on floats.