Prospective Aircraft Dispatcher

Bradpmp

Hello everyone,
I have been reading on these forums for a week now and decided to make an account. Iv'e recently came across the job "Aircraft Dispatcher" and it seems like something I would be interested in doing. Iv'e spoke with Sheffield School of Aeronautics and have a great interest in attending that school since I live here in FL. I purchased the book 'ATP Airline Transport Pilot FAA Written Exam' by Irvin N. Gleim to prepare me for the "ADX" exam. If I decide to go for dispatch school, I will be going August 2nd. Anyone who has been to Sheffield willing to give me some information as far as the overall difficulty? My main fear is failure..But failure can be a great motivator.

I graduated from Sheffield in February, and I highly recommend it. The Gleim ATP book is a good to use to study. Once you sign up for Sheffield, they'll give you a list of specific questions out of it to study and also, they are working up their own book/ guide to help narrow it down.

Hey All!

Some folks have PM'd regarding Sheffield and I thought these tips may be helpful.

Tips:

1. Live in the Sheffield Housing-I did not and missed a lot of study groups.

2. Study over the weekends-The pace does not let up.

3. Take the 5-week course it's the best experience.

4. Stay after class and get a debrief of the day-The instructors are required to stay an hour after each day to provide help-use it.

5. Get the ADX out of the way fast.

6. I took all the extra workshops at the end-needed to fill up my resume. Ideally one should work in the field for a while and then do the workshops.

7. Start applying to jobs week 2 - the airlines sometimes take months to complete the hiring process.

8. If possible, have a pro do your resume and cover letter.

9. Get on LinkedIn and make your profile complete and perfect, including a good picture. This and the Sheffield stamp of approval, and uploading your resume to JSFirm will result in recruiters calling YOU.