Side jobs flying

I do keep my CFI current just because it was a hard certificate to earn and it’s so easy to renew. But I haven’t touched a GA airplane since I was an instructor. If I got back into GA there’s no way I could fly one of those without a couple hours of instruction again. That sight picture on landing is long gone.

I do keep my CFI current just because it was a hard certificate to earn and it’s so easy to renew. But I haven’t touched a GA airplane since I was an instructor. If I got back into GA there’s no way I could fly one of those without a couple hours of instruction again. That sight picture on landing is long gone.
I’ll fully admit I’m basically scared to get into GA again. Too much traffic buzzing around, too many close calls, and having one engine just seems like it would be more nerve wracking than enjoyable. I can respect someone’s passion and having it be their hobby, but it’s not my cup of tea anymore.

As someone who (legally) flies for two jobs, it is a lot. You learn a lot, and everything becomes bigger picture because of it, but it is a lot of time not at home, not installing that refurbished instrument cluster into your 33 year old car, not cutting up downed tree limbs from wind storms, not grilling, not doing a lot of things. But you are sky captain 24/7, and you not only know when SEA is on N flow, but you also know when NAS Whidbey is on some weird runway. And you did both in a 24 hour window. So yay you :)

I’ll fully admit I’m basically scared to get into GA again
Someone around here said it was just as risky as riding a motorcycle. That didnt sound like something i'd do while dragging the kids along and trust a 60 year old beater engine with questionable mx.

Havent flown a GA plane since starting 121 (13 years) because it was expensive, now I dont do it cus im scared.