C152 Spark Plugs

mrivc211

My engines running rough between 1100-1200 RPM and I'm thinking the plugs need to be cleaned up. Did an engine run up to burn them off but its not doing the trick. I have a new set. Do new spark plugs need to be gapped? It's my first time owning a plane. I'm enrolling in A&P school after 12000 hours and 4 type ratings. I figured its about time if I'm going to own my own plane. Thanks

My engines running rough between 1100-1200 RPM and I'm thinking the plugs need to be cleaned up. Did an engine run up to burn them off but its not doing the trick. I have a new set. Do new spark plugs need to be gapped? It's my first time owning a plane. I'm enrolling in A&P school after 12000 hours and 4 type ratings. I figured its about time if I'm going to own my own plane. Thanks
Sounds like you may need more troubleshooting, though if you're going to load the parts cannon at least it's better to jump to plugs than something expensive like a carburetor or mags. To answer your specific question, I would check the new plugs gap before install but they should be within.

Thanks. The plane came with a set of new ones so I figured it wouldn't hurt to throw them in there. I've worked on cars at my uncles auto shop for a few years and took auto shop in high school for 4 years so I'm hoping thats enough to get me by until school starts. I don't know why I didn't enroll sooner.

The O-235's are notorious for lead fouling, especially on the bottom plugs for some reason. At some of the places I have wrenched at we used to pull the bottom plugs at oil changes and clean them and that helped out a bit surprisingly.

What Bustin said. I've always cleaned the plugs on the O-235s during oil changes. Also aggressive leaning on the ground helps. After start, I pull the throttle to idle, lean till the rise and then leave it until the run up.